Moscovites Rublev andKhachanov take first obstacle

02 March 2021
Moscovites Rublev andKhachanov take first obstacle

Russia is well represented with three players during the 48th edition of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament. In addition to leader Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev and Karen Khachanov (photo) are also on the hunt for the tournament win in Rotterdam Ahoy. Rublev and Khachanov took the first hurdle without a loss of set.

Tournament director Richard Krajicek considers Andrey Rublev (eighth in the global rankings) as one of the title contenders in Rotterdam Ahoy. The fourth-placed Russian with his devastating sledgehammer strokes settled in his first round with the American qualifier Marcos Giron: 7-6 (1), 6-3. Rublev: "It took some getting used to, because this was my first indoor match. After a difficult first set, I got better and better in the game."

The Stan Wawrinka-Karen Khachanov meeting was one of the squatters from the opening round. Khachanov made the fewest mistakes at the important moments (6-4, 7-5). Due to the defeat of eighth-ranked Wawrinka (35), the oldest participant of the tournament was eliminated.

"Wawrinka in the first round is really a tough draw," Khachanov emphasized again afterwards. "But what do you want with such a strong field of participants. Everyone wants to play in Rotterdam. In any case, I am happy with this victory. ” Khachanov will meet British qualifier Cameron Norrie in the second round on Wednesday evening. "I trained with him before the tournament. A left-handed opponent is always difficult."

Traditionally, many French players attend the largest ATP tournament in the Netherlands. Of the trio Jeremy Chardy, Ugo Humbert and Adrian Mannarino, only qualifier Chardy reached the second round. He beat Humbert in a marathon match: 4-6, 7-6 (5), 7-6 (4).

Tuesday opened with an Australian get-together. Alex de Minaur had few problems with John Millman (6-1, 6-4). The illustrious history of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament has one Australian winner: Lleyton Hewitt won in 2004.

Return to overview
Sitemap | Disclaimer | Privacy & Cookies | Copyright 2021 Ahoy -
We use cookies for website analysis and marketing. By visiting and using our website you accept these cookies.