• Menu

Richard Krajicek receives Career Award

18 December 2019
Richard Krajicek receives Career Award

Richard Krajicek was honored with the Fanny Blankers Koen Career Award at the National Sports Gala, organized by the Dutch Olympic Committee. The award is set to honor the greatest sports legends in Dutch history. Athletes who qualify for this have an appealing sports career in common. Their influence is not only international both also in different areas.

Richard Krajicek: "It is a great honour to receive this Fanny Blankers Koen Career Award. The list of athletes to which I have been added is impressive. Athletes such as Johan Cruijff, Joop Zoetemelk and Ard Schenk are still a source of inspiration to this day for many, just like the other athletes in the list. Extra special is the fact that my colleague tournament director, Esther Vergeer, who has been in charge of the wheelchair tournament since 2009, has already been honored. ”

After receiving the prize, he called on the collective Dutch sports world: "Sport has taken us far, it is now up to us to take sports further. Each of us can encourage a child to pick up a handball, a tennis racket, a hockey stick. Because it is possible to become a world champion. It is possible, to win Olympic gold. Let's make sure that young people continue to exercise and dare to dream, so that the next generation can also enjoy the Netherlands as an elite sports country."

Previous winners

The list of previous winners is a mix of different athletes from different sports.

Dressage: Anky van Grunsven (2012)
Hockey: Teun de Nooijer (2013)
Judo: Anton Geesink (2005) Rowing: Nico Rienks (2005)
Wheelchair tennis: Esther Vergeer (2016)
Figure skating: Sjoukje Dijstra (2005)
Ice skating: Ard Schenk (2005), Rintje Ritsma (2014), Yvonne van Gennip (2017), Marianne Timmer (2018)
Football: Johan Cruijff (2005), Edwin van der Sar (2011)
Volleyball: Peter Blangé (2007)
Cycling: Leontien Zijlaard-van Moorsel (2006), Joop Zoetemelk (2015)
Swimming: Inge de Bruijn (2009), Pieter van den Hoogenband (2010)

Return to overview
Sitemap | Disclaimer | Privacy & Cookies | Copyright 2021 Ahoy - www.ahoy.nl
We use cookies for website analysis and marketing. By visiting and using our website you accept these cookies.