• Menu

Finale: reigning champion vs wonder boy

16 February 2020
Finale: reigning champion vs wonder boy

In the history of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament a French player has won the title on six occasions. Cédric Pioline (2000), Nicolas Escudé (2001 én 2002), Michael Llodra (2008), Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2017) and Gaël Monfils last year. 

To defend his title, Monfils needs to get past teen sensation Felix Auger-Aliassime. "All finals are tough. I know Felix, as he’s broken trough very quickly. He speaks French, so we get along well,” Monfils said about his relationship with the ambitious rising star with clear goals. 

"I want to reach the final wherever I play and give myself a chance to win titles.”

Monfils and Auger-Aliassime will square off for the first time ever at 3:30pm, after the doubles final at 1pm. 2018 champions Pierre-Hugues Herbert/Nicolas Mahut face Henri Kontinen/Jan-Lennard Struff. Kontinen won the doubles title last year together with Jeremy Chardy. 

Return to overview
Sitemap | Disclaimer | Privacy & Cookies | Copyright 2021 Ahoy - www.ahoy.nl
We use cookies for website analysis and marketing. By visiting and using our website you accept these cookies.