• Menu

Strongest player field ever

Strongest player field ever

02 january 2019
Strongest player field ever


The registration for the 46th ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament is closed. It provides the strongest field of participants in the history of the tournament, with well-known players such as Zverev, Cilic, Dimitrov, Goffin, Monfils, Nishikori, Raonic and Tsonga. They compete against talents such as Chung, Tsitsipas, Edmund, Khachanov, Shapovalov and Kyrgios. The tournament will be held from 9 to 17 February 2019 in Rotterdam Ahoy.

Tournament Director Richard Krajicek: "Every year we want a wide, strong player field. With nine players from the top 20 and a mix between big names and top talent, we are looking forward to a great edition. The latest additions, including Tsonga, Raonic, Edmund and Khachanov, but also Medvedev, Monfils and Gasquet, for example, are in line with our goal. "

Numerically it provides the strongest player list ever. With a cut-off at 37, the bar for participation this year is higher than ever.

Former winner Tsonga

One of the most eye-catching names to be added last-minute is the 2017 champion, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga. He takes part for the sixth time and returns for the first time after his title win. In 2011 he also reached the final, but he lost the final from Robin Söderling. Tsonga completes a traditionally strong French representation, which further includes Richard Gasquet, Gael Monfils and Lucas Pouille.

From Canada Milos Raonic and Denis Shapovalov are present. Shapovalov is the youngest player currently in the top 100 of ATP.

Wildcard for Robin Haase

The strength of the participant field ensures that Robin Haase needs a wildcard. Richard Krajicek: "We had not taken this into account in advance, but we always have a place in the tournament for Robin. We consider it a luxury problem that the number 50 of the world is not directly admitted. "

The second wildcard goes as previously known to Stan Wawrinka, who returns from a long injury. The third wildcard is expected to be announced shortly before the tournament.


Alexander Zverev
Marin Cilic       
Kei Nishikori           
Karen Khachanov          
Kyle Edmund           
Stefanos Tsitsipas        
Daniil Medvedev            
Milos Raonic                    
Grigor Dimitrov    
Nikoloz Basilashvili       
David Goffin   
Roberto Bautista Agut     
Hyeon Chung   
Richard Gasquet  
Denis Shapovalov
Fernando Verdasco  
Gael Monfils  
Lucas Pouille  
Philipp Kohlschreiber  
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga*
Nick Kyrgios 
Marton Fucsovics 
Andreas Seppi  


Robin Haase
Stan Wawrinka 

The field of participants is supplemented with:

  • Wildcard
  • Perhaps A + Wildcard
  • Four qualifiers

* Jo-Wilfried Tsonga uses his protected ranking. Players returning from a long-term injury are entitled to use the ranking they had at a time when they were injured.


Return to overview
Sitemap | Disclaimer | Privacy & Cookies | Copyright 2019 Ahoy - www.ahoy.nl
We use cookies for website analysis and marketing. By visiting and using our website you accept these cookies.