• Menu


2014 US Open winner Marin Cilic to Rotterdam

23 august 2018
2014 US Open winner Marin Cilic to Rotterdam
Just before the US Open, Marin Cilic indicated to take part in the 46th ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament. The 29-year-old Croatian, winner of the US Open in 2014, is coming to Rotterdam Ahoy for the fifth time. Earlier, Nick Kyrgios, Kei Nishikori and Hyeon Chung were announced. The tournament will be held from 9 to 17 February 2019.
Tournament Director Richard Krajicek: "Marin Cilic is now a familiar face in Rotterdam. He has already achieved some good results with us, with his final place in 2014 as a highlight. With his US Open title in the same year, he captured his place in the world top. After all, he is only one of six different players who have won a Grand Slam title since 2010. "
The 29-year-old Croatian, who has won eighteen titles so far, is currently the number seven in the world. In February of this year he reached third place, his highest ranking.
In 2014, he was the winner of the US Open, with a victory in the final on Kei Nishikori, who will also be in Ahoy in February. Earlier this year, he won Queen's, which, like the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament, is an ATP 500 tournament. Fourteen of his eighteen titles he obtained on hard court, the ground that is also in Rotterdam.
Marin Cilic in Ahoy
Marin Cilic participated four times in the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament. Three times he reached the quarterfinals, in 2014 he lost the final of Tomas Berdych. In his best year in Ahoy, he defeated Andy Murray and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, among others.
Four players known
With Marin Cilic, Nick Kyrgios, Kei Nishikori and Hyeon Chung, four players have already been announced for the 46th edition of the tournament, a Grand Slam winner, two debutants and the winner of the #NextGen tournament in Milan.

Return to overview
Sitemap | Disclaimer | Privacy & Cookies | Copyright 2018 Ahoy - www.ahoy.nl
We use cookies for website analysis and marketing. By visiting and using our website you accept these cookies.